Author Topic: On The Rise Magazine interview  (Read 1830 times)

Desiree

• Founding Backup #730 - mdoolittle @Jmoffet Can't believe I'm saying this, but listen to @swain1856
On The Rise Magazine interview
« on: December 15, 2011, 07:04:43 pm »
Daood: Congratulations on your first Christmas single “God Bless Us Everyone.”

Melinda Doolittle: Thank you so much. I’m really, really excited about this song. This is my first time releasing an original song. I’m thankful that Regie Hamm took the time out to write the song with me; happy that people get to hear it now.

Daood: So the song is co-written with Regie Hamm?

Melinda Doolittle: Yes. Regie Hamm is a terrific writer. He has written so many amazing songs. We did a panel together last year and decided that we should try writing together; and we’ve ended up making a great team. We’ve written a few songs together now, but the Christmas song is definitely my favorite.

Daood: Musically it’s a beautiful composition and exactly who are the major players in creating the instrumentation?

Melinda Doolittle: The major player would be Tre Corley and Tre to me is a genius. He is based here in Hendersonville, Tennessee at Oak Tree Studio’s. I remember sitting with him and telling him my favorite Christmas album is Josh Groban (self-titled Christmas album) and all of the strings but I love the Nat King Cole plush feel of music also. So Tre was able to put the music together and make it great for me.

Daood: Cause when I was listening to the song this morning it sounds like an orchestra.

Melinda Doolittle: Yes sir, I have to have an orchestra. I love string instruments they are my favorite. He was very created as to how he did it that. We ended up creating the music very quickly and he knew that strings were important to me.

Daood: There is a piano piece at the beginning. Who is the keyboardist?

Melinda Doolittle: Tre is playing the piano and also the drums. He’s extremely talented.